School Board

(Left to Right) Kimberly Gray - 2nd District, Derik Jones - 8th District, Jeffrey Bourne - 3rd District, Donald Coleman, Chair - 7th District, Shonda Harris-Muhammed - 6th District, Glen Sturtevant - 1st District, Tichi Pinkney Eppes - 9th District, Kristen Larson, Vice Chair - 4th District & Mamie Taylor - 5th District

The School Board is Richmond's local governing educational body and is composed of one Board representative from each of the nine districts. Board members are elected by the citizens to a four-year term of office. The Chairman, Vice Chairman and other officers are elected by the other members of the School Board.

Time and Place of Meetings

The School Board meets on the first Monday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the School Board Room on the 17th floor of City Hall and the third Monday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers on the 2nd floor of City Hall, located at 301 North Ninth Street. If the Monday of the School Board meeting is a holiday, the meeting will be held on Tuesday.

View the meeting schedule:  Scheduled Meetings

School Board Mission Statement

The mission of the Richmond School Board is to provide our students with high quality educational experiences so that our public schools are the choice of all Richmonders; to ensure that parents, families, and the community-at-large are involved in the activities of students; to ensure that students:

  • master the essential skills of reading, writing, mathematics, and reasoning
  • grow creatively, culturally and physically in order to become life-long learners; and
  • learn to appreciate cultural diversity, become responsible citizens, and lead productive lives